Anyone know anything about this Coltrane book?

• Replies 63
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Got that one & one called Ascension which is an easier read than Porter's.

Porter's book is very good, but I agree it is not that easy to read. I am not a musician, and a great deal of the book is taken up with an analysis of his muisc, and musical knowledge I am sure would help. It seems to have been written to appeal to musicians, rather than lay people like me!

Che.

"This book not only details Coltrane's strengths and weaknesses [...]"

Musical weaknesses? By '57 (even by '56), what weaknesses?

/

The Lewis Porter book is top notch. Eric Nisenson, on the other hand, is the most godawful jazz writer I've ever read.

I have read Nisenson's book on Sonny Rollins which I think is a little better than the Coltrane book.

Che.

Mike Fitzgerald,

I thought about adding something like that. It really is sad that the state of jazz writing is so poor. I guess that decades ago jazz was not usually thought of as serious enough to write about with the intelligence as classical music and other art forms, even film. And, in general, jazz writing has still not caught up. One contributor to this problem is that so many entrenched jazz writers actually argue that jazz writing doesn't need to be better than it is. Yet, what's so often written in books and in the jazz magazines is just garbage.

Edited by Cornelius

The Rollins book is another piece of trash - the contributions that Rollins himself made are of some value but forget everything else. Paraphrases straight from the Grove Dictionary of Jazz, huge omissions, faulty assumptions, etc. - this is NOT quality writing.