Are you self taught or do you have/had a teacher?

Hardbopjazz

Are you self taught or did or do you have a teacher?  

17 members have voted

You do not have permission to vote in this poll, or see the poll results. Please sign in or register to vote in this poll.

This should be interesting - that is not a yes or no question. :)

I've spent time with private teachers, as well as attending some classes at MSU. Also, I've spent many years learning things from books and records. So, a little of both.

I can read music, but slowly. I don't have good chart writing skills.

That's not a yes or no question.

Agree. I started learning from family members as a kid. Took a few lessons, played on my own for years, took a few more lessons, went at it on my own, etc.

When I took up Double Bass seriously after 20 years or so of playing guitar and bass guitar, I got a teacher and have stuck with lessons. I've also taken a few theory and ensemble classes/lessons.

I can read and write music, but don't work on it as much as I should and my reading chops are not up to snuff. New year's resolution?

How many of you are self taught?

I had piano lessons when I was a kid, high school theory & chorus, choir and various guitar and singing lessons.

But I'd say I'm mostly self taught and still working on getting my guitar playing together after no playing for a few years.

Can you read and write music?

Reading...OK, I've been doing it more lately.

Writing: lately I've been writing out solos because I've been having problems working out things on the guitar. If I have to write for someone else, I do it on the computer.

:lol: