Overplayed Tunes, from The Real Book

Rooster_Ties

OK, "Free For All" was wondering what tunes I thought were overplayed, so here are some. I'm flipping though "The Real Book" just now --- and yeah, I'm not a jazz musician, but I've got a Real Book, which I've had for years. (No idea where I got it. but I only paid $5 for it, so no harm done.)

Anyway, here are some tunes that I think I've heard enough substandard versions of, to last me well more than a lifetime. (Presented in alphabetical order, though the first four are by far the worst (in terms of being overplayed), at least in my book.)

All Of Me

As Time Goes By

Autumn Leaves

How High The Moon

My Funny Valentine

Satin Doll (though it's my mother's favorite Ellington tune)

Take the "A" Train

and C-Jam Blues (not in the Real Book that I could see, but I get bored with this the second I hear it)

I might have also almost included a Monk and/or Parker tune, though I can't fault any specific tunes in the book, so I guess I just think Monk and Bird are overplayed, at least by some --- though I'll always welcome any Monk tune from any group that can do something interesting with it.

==========

And that leads me into a side-rant. (Yeah, this is going to be one of those kinds of threads. ;) )

One of the other things I hate is when less-than-inspired musicians play a tune, and then just as soon as the head is over, when the go into the solos --- they go into standard blues changes, or "Rhythm" changes, such that absolutely NONE of the character of the original tune is carried over into the rest of the performance. Zero, zilch, nada!!! I mean, I can't count the number of times where (if I hadn't heard the head), that I'd have any chance in hell of guessing the tune, based on the solos or the comping behind the solos. I mean, why do a tune in the first place, if you're gonna do utterly generic stuff for 90% of the performance??