Ethan Iverson interviews Ron Carter

Ron's his own person, as they say.

I once read a interview that he gave to the University of Rochester's campus magazine. The Eastman School of Music, where Ron studied in the late 50's (1955–59), is part of the U of R.

The interviewer asked " You must have find memories of your time at Eastman ( where I believe Ron was the only Black student ) ?

Ron lambasted him with ( in effect) "What gives you that idea? How could I possilbly have fond memories? I was a only Black student with a young family to support, in a hostile enviorment. It was made clear that I had no real opportunities in the Eastman world. The audacity of that statement shows you have no real respect for me or understanding of my musical life" etc. etc.

He was correct, of course, but Ron takes to prisoners!

RonC_NoalC.jpg

EI: Mr. Carter, it's an honor to talk to you. For my bona fides I'm going to play one of my favorite records over the phone.

RC: Ok.

(The first tune is heard.)

Oh yeah! Etudes. That's a good one. Tony Williams, Art Farmer, and Bill Evans. I really enjoyed that one.

EI: This is one of my favorite records that you've done as a leader. It makes a case for you as an underrated composer. You have a really distinctive style, with small catchy melodic shapes that circle around in kind of a humorous way.

RC: I try. It's great to hear that a stranger appreciates my compositions and my music.

EI: One of my favorite tunes of yours is "Einbahnstrasse." The special quartet at Carnegie Hall is Wayne Shorter, Herbie Hancock, and Billy Cobham. On your record Uptown Conversation, you, Hancock, and Billy Cobham play "Einbahnstrasse" at the highest level. I admit this my favorite performance of Herbie Hancock in a trio setting.

RC: Hancock was on fire! That's a great record.