everything SAM RIVERS - whacha got?? - and talk about 'em all!

Rooster_Ties

Just this past Monday, Spontooneous hooked me up with a turntable and something to play it through (the first time I've had one in close to 10 years -- thanks Joe!!), so the last couple days I've been spinning vinyl I've had for 20 years or more, most of which I probably haven't listen to since I first got it -- and certainly not since the mid to late 90's.

This include four somewhat less well-known Sam Rivers LP's...

Crystals (ABC IMpulse, 1974)

Sizzle (ABC Impulse, 1976)

The Quest (Pausa, 1977)

Contrasts (ECM, 1980)

Thus, I'm starting this here thread to discuss ALL THINGS SAM RIVERS. I figure we all know most or all of the Blue Note stuff (sideman dates included), and his BN stuff is certainly fair game for this thread -- but what about all the rest?? I've got a bunch more Sam on CD, but I'll have to dig through things to find all of it. Meanwhile, list and discuss your favorites...

Edited by Rooster_Ties

• Replies 122
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Nice thread!

Don't have a whole lot (wish I had way more).

I have:

Fuchsia Swing Song

Dimensions and Extensions

Contours

Crystals

Vista

On every date that I've heard him on so far, he always brings something special to the table. In addition, he always stands out on his sideman appearances. Dialogue and Into Somethin' stand out as immediate examples. I also dug him with Miles too. The Tokyo date is one of my favorite Miles because Sam is on it.