Blue Note

Peter

It has to happen eventually. I've been buying Blue Note CD re-issues for 10-15 years now (when did the connoisseurs first come out???). Certainly they've been re-cycling for years now. Connoisseurs are OOP so now we see RVGs. Doesn't seem like there's anything left. Of course Tyrone Washington's Natural Essence hasn't been re-issued in the US. Anything else in the Blue Note Vaults would re-issuing?

• Replies 124
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Have the Horace Silver "Silver 'N'..." albums from the early 70s ever been released on CD?

I have a strong recollection of the very late 60s, that my friends and I thought that what Blue Note was putting out then was pretty mediocre. Unfortunately, I don't recall any titles. I just recall that James Spaulding was always on flute. To my knowledge those titles haven't been released on CD, but I wouldn't be interested in them if they were.

Still lots of unissued stuff in the vaults. I run across sessions all the time I'd love hear. A Freddie Roach unissued I was just looking at. Also, some John Patton I'd like to see...

What sessions are you referring to ? What little is left in the vaults are rejects ? I once owned the discography.

Most of the sessions with James Spaulding that I can think of have been reissued, except for T. Washington's Natural Essence. I like 'em, YMMV. We're not quite at the bottom of the barrell, but it's getting close. But as the last two Stan T's before Dearly Beloved (the midsized late '0s dates, Prodigal Son and Bluish Bag) show, bottom of the barrell can still be pretty sweet. I'd like to hear the two jimmy Web tunes left off GG's Carryin' On! and I think Sngry would too...