Post Django Gold, the trend continues

• Replies 57
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

All i know is these new-to-me Bobby Hutcherson albums are kick arse, I thoroughly enjoyed listening to Sun Ra's Supersonic Jazz this morning, the new Steve Lehman is awesome and i can't wait for Halvorson's Reverse Blue album to finally come out on Relative Pitch in the next couple of months. I couldn't care less what some random has to say, even less so for the ''jazz is all about freedom maaaaan" counter comments. Kill it all with fire.

Reading comments on the internet should come with an official health warning. It is the worst possible constitutional on a Saturday morning, or any morning, or night.

Please don't misconstrue this as outrage.

You sure this isn't satire? :smirk:

I thought this was interesting:

"I studied jazz while an undergraduate at Wesleyan University and had the privilege of learning from, at varying distances, some of the genre’s great performers and teachers, including Anthony Braxton, Pheeroan akLaff andJay Hoggard."

That "at varying distances" tells me he was not Braxton's favorite student. That he could study at such a school and write such a piece suggests to me some personal axe being ground furiously.

I am listening to his former "teacher" with his quartet from 1993 and it is among the most incredibly exciting performances I've ever heard from any era.

he even screeches a bit on his horns from time to time.

Fwiw, Hemingway's performance on drums is splendidly and thoroughly original and far removed from what any drummer played 30 years before.

As is the playing of the quartet.

I can think of dozens of performances by multiple bands/ensembles over the last few years that resembled little that existed ten or fifteen years ago.

One would have to actually listen to current jazz/improv to comment on the issue with any bit of gravitas.