Apple Music blues

mjzee

What Amber explained was exactly what I’d feared: through the Apple Music subscription, which I had, Apple now deletes files from its users’ computers. When I signed up for Apple Music, iTunes evaluated my massive collection of Mp3s and WAV files, scanned Apple’s database for what it considered matches, then removed the original files from my internal hard drive. REMOVED them. Deleted. If Apple Music saw a file it didn’t recognize—which came up often, since I’m a freelance composer and have many music files that I created myself—it would then download it to Apple’s database, delete it from my hard drive, and serve it back to me when I wanted to listen, just like it would with my other music files it had deleted.

Full article here: https://blog.vellumatlanta.com/2016/05/04/apple-stole-my-music-no-seriously/

There are plenty of days that I find Windows Media Player too intrusive (renaming albums sometimes after I've ripped the files) and I pretty much only use it for pop CDs and use FreeRip for everything else.  I'm quite glad I haven't ever granted any of these services access to my hard drive. 

I had no intention of signing up for Apple Music anyway, but if this report above turns out to be true, then clearly no one should!!!

I have to say, I believe the original report far more than the "clarification." 

The number of fanboys in the comments in the second piece that flat out deny there could be any problems associated with using Apple is a bit worrying.