Gerry Mulligan: The Emarcy Sextet Recordings

Hello All

My first post to this great site.  I'm new to Mosaic (and quite new to Jazz).  Mosaic has been a revelation to me on the few I've aquired (Tal Farlow, Dizzy, Gerald Wilson Count Basie Jimmy Smith Art Pepper) Brilliant.  I've also been Lucky enough to get Gerry Mulligan Verve and Pacific.  All these 2nd hand, mainly from UK (local).  I want to take the plunge and buy some new from the source.  I really enyoy the Mulligan, but wonder if its worth going for the Emarcy set, as I already have 2 others, for this kind of outlay, (I would not want to have too much overlap).  As the shipping cost is fairly high to the UK, I want to order all I will get in 1 go.  I'm also contemplating Joe Pass and beehive sets.  They are really a bit above my price range, but the temptation is too strong and its satisfying my mid life crisis.

Tony

Tony - Welcome to the board, I share your enthusiasm for all things Mosaic. As you mention, the shipping of these sets to the UK isn't the easiest, although I find Mosaic's shipping straight-forward and reliable. Prepare for import tax and the dreaded Royal Mail 'admin' charge on delivery  though. 

For in-print sets, consider ordering from jazzmessengers in Spain. I think their shipping within the EU is free as well (at least whilst we are still a member of that Institution..:rolleyes:).

The Mulligan Emarcy on vinyl is on my list. I have the Japanese LPs but these were from a digital source I think. I suspect Mosaics mastering on this set will be superior to the Japanese sources. In fact they did such a fantastic job in the Brown/Roach and RRK sets that It should be a no-brainer.

Edited by sidewinder