Strange BN lp on ebay: re- John Patton

why is this lp in pic a vangelder stamped memphis to NY spirit on Liberty labels- this cant be for realz can it?

Memphis to NY Spirit is only on US lp from 1996 cut by wally or someone, no?  please advise

https://www.ebay.com/itm/LP-JOHN-PATTON-Memphis-To-New-York-Split-BST-84418-Van-Gelder-Germany-NM-to-EX/153854561091?hash=item23d2724b43:g:cCAAAOSwQZFeNvsm

s-l1600.jpg

omg-  i just noticed it is called Memphis to NY SPLIT.  s-p-l-i-t.

oh no- what is this thing?

• Replies 69
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I am no expert at all on the finer points of the various pressings of BN LPs (a science unto itself, isn't it? ^_^) but I did a quick comparison anyway. I have the two Art Blakey "Orgy in Rhythm" LPs as German Liberty stereo pressings inside a US LIberty jacket (combinations that seem to be not so rare, i.e. using up jackets form one source for vinyl from another).

If this is a boot of fake then whoever reproduced the label did so with extreme diligence as the fonts and even the minor grammar errors of the copyright statement round the edges of the genuine German label were duplicated very acurately. I cannot judge the colors as the digital photos might falsify these anyway. And the catalog numbers are pen-engraved in the dead wax of my LPs too.
However - the RVG in the dead wax of my copies does not read "VAN GELDER" but "RVG STEREO". Have both texts been documented for real by the experts?

This would be intriguing if it is for real. Could it be that Francis Wolff released a master of the session for intended German pressing just before it was put in the can in the US? Possible, I guess. Maybe just a few were released in Germany before they pulled it there too (and before correcting the label).

Edited by sidewinder

I looked at that part of the BN discography:

BST 84413   Grant Green - Shades Of Green   1972

BST 84414   Elvin Jones - Merry-Go-Round   1972