BFT 215 reveal

mikeweil

The theme of this BFT is a small independent label located in Nürnberg, South East Germany, meta records, founded in 1999 by Johannes Reichert and Ralf Altrieth. They feature contemporary jazz by local Southern German and Swiss artists, some baroque and classical, experimental and crossover stuff (Reichert is a countertenor and recorded some interesting Purcell projects).. I learned about them when I heard track 7 from this BFT on the radio in the car when some new CDs were presented. I liked it so much that I looked for the label on the web when back home, and ordered the CD. I studied their catalogue, listened to some samples and ordered some more over the years. These are some tracks that I like most, but with some CDs I had a hard time selecting, as the tracks are rather diverse, and all are interesting. All are more group efforts than simple blowing vehicles featuring solos, a collective spirit is common to all tracks which is what attracts me to this music more than conventionally structured jazz focussing on solos, although there are some great solos here, too.
A kind of sub-theme is the music and playing of the Arbenz brothers, pianist Michael and drummer Florian, whose band Vein is one of the most intriguing piano trios on the scene: I find them a lot more interesting than EST or other Jarrett derived trios focussing more or less on the pianist. Vein is a true collective band of equally featured members beyond the traditional role models. They invite American jazz soloist as guests every now and then, like Dave Liebman, Bennie Maupin, or Greg Osby (German critic Ulrich Ohlshausen wrote that they were coaxing the best out of Osby). I pre-ordered the next album to be issued in March - Our Roots, to be found on their homepage. Beat-o-Vein .......