Classical Music

ninety

I'm new to classical music also...I've loved Gorecki's 3rd symphony mainly the music and not the woman singing. Also I really love adagio for strings from Barber. I really enjoyed Gavin Bryars farewell to philosophy. Arvo Parts-tabla rasura is amazing aswell these are the perfect classical that fits my taste. I don't seem to like any other types of classical music except for the type that is very melancholic and dark that starts off slow and goes into a crescendo just like what I've mentioned. I dont want something too symphonic or orchestral with crazy time changes every 2 seconds. Just something that flows very well. Also if anyone knows the post/rock groups A SILVER MT ZION and RACHEL's they are 2 bands that play a sort of contemporary chamber music of their own if anyone has heard any which I mentioned can you recommend me something melancholic and moving that fits my liking??

Edited by ninety

Oh man are you going to get suggestions from Rooster Ties!

For my part, I heartily recommend Arvo Part's other works on ECM; dark and moody.

You might also enjoy Britten's Variations on a Theme of Frank Bridges for string orchestra.

Try out Bartok's Divertimento for string orchestra, and I think some clear winners for you will also be Stravinsky's Firebird and Saint-Saens' Piano Concerti (there are five of them) and Symphonies (three of them--you usually hear the "Organ Symphony" (number 2), which is phenomenal, but the others are undersung gems IMHO.

That should do you for late 1800's to early 1900's; I'm going to let RT jump in with suggestions that will take us up to the present day.

I hope this helps; let me know if you want more suggestions, and if you give these a listen, what you think of them!