AOTW May 17th -23rd Martial Solal

Clunky

Could have chosen a number of Solal's and I'm no expert. This disc is however as fine a distillation of his art as improviser as I've come across. If Solal was American be just be ignored but as he's French he suffers the european jazzers curse of complete obscurity. IMO he's a gifted genius.

This collection of standards including some real old warhorses never ceases to surprise with the invention he brings. Great choice of tunes and thoroughly invigorated.

Even if you don't have this one share your opinions on Solal here.

Edited by Clunky

So much good music that I don't have or even know ... sure looks interesting with these accompanists, or rather, partners.

I don't have that album, but would like to express my deep appreciation of Solal as one of Europes premier jazz musicians. He's a towering prominence and has covered a lot of ground. As Dan Morgenstern expressed when commenting on a reissue of some Lucky Thompson with Solal (highly recommended!): Solal is one of the best, period!

BALADE DU 10 MARS is indeed a very good album.

But the best SOLAL record from the last ten years is TRIANGLE on JMS with PETER ERSKINE on drums and MARC JOHNSON on bass.

It's from 1995 and SOLAL plays only his compositions (some new: ROUND ABOUT TWELVE, A NIGHT IN VENESIA, TRIANGLE, some not: ANATHEME.)

All are excellents and full of humour - SOLAL is, to my knowledge, in straight jazz, the only pianist that can be humourous in his playing without lost any of his chop.

I don't have this album, but I'm quite a fan of what I heard of Solal.

His early stuff was out in the latest nineties on three Vogue Masters CDs (titled Complete Vogue Recordings Vols. 1-3). Some great trio, solo, quartet (with "Fats" Sadi Lallemand on vibes), and band stuff!

Didn't get his latest BN release so far, as it's copy protected here (although I saw it dirt cheap and was tempted several times).

Is this one still available?