BFT #89 Discussion

tkeith

Thom, I really enjoy this BFT. It has some of the styles of jazz which I like best. It also seems to feature some recent recordings, which is something I am interested in learning about.

Also, it is a great BFT in that sometimes I think I know who is playing, but cannot find any recording by them which is like the song you picked. So either you are fooling me about the artist, or have found a recording more obscure than what I know about.

I am not good at all at identifying musicians on these BFTs, but here are my initial reactions anyway.

1. A jazz waltz, with an excellent tenor saxophonist, who knows his Stan Getz. But it just can't be Getz, not with some of the lower register passages here.

2. A great group. It sounds like a mainstream recording from the 1990--2011 period to me. The trumpet player has a really nice tone. Excellent bass solo. Really interesting piano solo. I have no idea who they are, but I want to know, and I want to buy this album.

3. What an exciting trumpet player! Who plays those plunger mute effects any more? And who plays only through a mouthpiece, as the trumpet player does at the end? Is this "St. James Infirmary"? I heard at least a hint of it at one point. This is a swinging, bluesy song. The drummer keeps up the swing but plays with a lot of appealing variety too. The bass player has a nice, rich, big tone. I love this. I think it is from some time in the last 20 years, which qualifies as the "recent era" to me.

4. I like this--the flute and guitar solos are appealing. The electric keyboard and drummer combine for some rather odd rhythms, choppy feeling. I really have no idea who would do this.