Unit Records (Switzerland)

RDK

Have really been digging the Braff/Oester/Rohrer albums that have shown up on emusic and Braff's Yele is one of my favorite emusic downloads ever. But this is a label that I'm otherwise unfamiliar with and most of the European artists are unknown to me as well. So any recommendations on where to go next? The Strayhornmonk sounds tempting...

Yele is indeed great, and Braff a personal favourite! His trio with Baenz Oester (b) and Samuel Rohrer (d) is even better, and I was lucky to have caught them live as well. Big Braff fan here!

I couldn't say I'm an expert about things Unit. I think they were in some trouble, having been sort of a musician-union thing, but then someone or a few people bought it to save it or something like that (it got tiny coverage in the press here, as everything jazz does, if it gets any coverage).

Anyway, Rafael Schilt's "Leafar" disc is really good, in my opinion. Sort of in a Konitz/Marsh mood but updated and with much more grooves (electric bass by the great Wolfgang Zwiauer, Samuel Roher is on drums here as well, no piano). Nat Su on alto may be known to a few here, he was on a BFT as well (Nate Dorward's, I think). A great player in the Konitz-line.

Schilt happens to be an old friend of mine, and I caught up with him again on their CD release concert (in fact the CD was delivered between sets, and he offered one to me). He is a technically accomplished tenor player, and his compositions/arrangements allow for some collective linear improvisation, as well as for some quite groovy stuff. It's not cold or difficult music at all, but it's not of the burning hot kind either... somewhere in between, with plenty of interesting things happening all the time.

I'll have to look at the website to see if I have any other Unit titles - I think only a handful or less, as they don't have good distribution, not even here...

yup, some more I have: