The 100 (1000, 10000?) classical works one has to know

porcy62

Lately I am listen to more and more classical music (on vinyl, of course :crazy: ) and I am wondering if there is any list of the key classical works (and maybe recordings). I am pretty familiar with such stuff for jazz and rock, but never met a classical one.

I know that such kind of lists depend on the writer's taste and pov, but nevertheless I might find it interesting since I am not really an expert, my listening is oriented towards "classic", "romantic" and "late romantic" composers like Mozart, Haydn, Beethoven, Brahms and Mahler, just to name a few. I read the Penguin guide but it's focused on recordings rather then the works.

Any suggestion?

Is this any help?

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/culture/music/c...Recordings.html

Be sure to read 'The Classical Rules' at the bottom - a nice send up of the needless pomposity that often surrounds classical music collecting.

When I first got interested in the mid-70s I recall reading the section in Pears Encyclopedia to get some sense of overview!!!!! Amazingly it convinced me to try Bruckner!

You'd be as well to get a general history of music or the period that interests you most and work it out from there. It's very old now but way back then I found this very helpful with short bios:

51HHE88QWBL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA240_SH20_OU01_.jpg

My version ends in the mid-20thC but I think it has been updated.

Treat any 'best of list' with caution. They can be useful guides but the real fun comes from finding your own path rather than ticking the boxes on a list someone else asserts are essential. As with jazz, the best way is to tune in to a radio programme. BBC Radio 3 has a nice drive time programme where you get ambushed by a wide range of music - unlike Classic FM, it ranges far and wide and doesn't just stick to lollipops. I'm sure you'll have something similar where you live.