Any stock investing / finance folks in here?

Can someone explain to me why two different reputable websites are giving me varying historical quotes for the same day? I'm no finance expert, but shouldn't they be the same data?

For example, BRE Properties stock on July 7, 1998

According to USA Today,

USA Today

Date Last High Low Close Volume % Change

07/07/1998 27.12 28.25 27.06 28.06 303,700 4.18%

But then Yahoo Finance says:

Yahoo Finance

Date Open High Low Close Volume Adj Close*

Jul 7, 1998 24.22 25.23 24.17 25.06 303,700 12.28

What gives? Sorry for the formatting, but I can't get the data to space out right.

Edited by trane_fanatic

Interesting question. Three things jump out at me about this data:

1) The data comes from different data sources (Commodity Systems, Inc. vs. Interactive Data)

2) Yahoo notes an "adjusted" close which takes into account splits and dividends.

3) While not the same, the data shares similar contours. Both quotes show a stock that closed significantly higher than its opening price, a low 5-6 cents below the opening price, and a high about 20 cents above the closing price. In fact if you look at the ratio of close price: opening price you'll see that both sets of data give almost exactly the same value (1.0346). I think you'll probably find the same thing if you examine other ratios among these prices.

Put all three together and my hunch is that one of the sources (not sure which) has done some more "adjusting" and isn't telling you exactly why without a dig through their FAQ or help forums. Maybe Yahoo has also adjusted all the old prices for inflation or something so people can make more accurate comparisons of trends, not sure.

I checked Fidelity's data and theirs is very close to the USA Today data (it's identical, except the opening price is 27.13 instead of 27.12).

This guy seems to have had similar questions and researched it quite a bit: http://larkbirdsong.com/researchnewsletter042008.html

Edited by Big Wheel