SoundForge 6.0's noise reduction software

Hardbopjazz

I have some experience with high quality noise removal software.

For vinyl popping noise it is very good, but for constant groove noise and tape hiss removal the usage is very limited, as far as music recordings are concerned. Removing hiss effectively changes the music too much, treble sounds unnatural.

I usually remove loud pops manually, be cutting it out of the soundwave (zooming in the relevant proportion) and keep the rest of the noise, in order to preserve the quality of the sound.

Edited by Claude

I'm with Claude; it can take a while, but you'd be surprised how large a chunk of sound can come out of a wav file without noticing it. Clean clicks might be .002 seconds, and that you'll never notice. But a good old pop can be pretty big, and I've deleted (or muted) pops around .03 seconds and never noticed it afterwards.

Its almost as if your ears fill in the missing sound.

The only drawback of course is the time involved, if there are a ridiculous amount of clicks, you'll get fed up pretty easily. But if its only a few per track or side, its very much worth it to do it manually.

I only do filtering of surface noise when it's really bad. Analysing a silent portion and making a filter based on that, only filtering out about 25% though, as it indeed does affect the sound of the instruments as well. Taking out only a little tends to sharpen the picture a bit, take out too much and it's compression land. It all depends on the recording and the noise in the end. You will never make a noisy LP sound stellar.

Pops and clicks I remove by using a very conservative filter first that only gets rid of the tiny little clicks. The bigger ones I take out by hand. This can take ages.