Raspberry PI 4 As An Audio Streamer

Kevin Bresnahan

Sorry - I am an engineer. I sometimes write wordy posts. If this is TLDR, I won't mind if you skip it.

For the past 4 or 5 years, I've been using an old HP laptop running Linux Ubuntu with an external hard drive that has my music library (in VBR mp3 format) on it with playback via the GMusicPlayer app. While I do like this setup, it is rather inconvenient. I have to boot up the PC, turn on my TV, switch to the HDMI input to bring up the PC desktop, grab the wireless keyboard & mouse, make sure the laptop is set to output the audio via the line out (not via HDMI) and then I click through my library to find music to play. To make matters worse, my daughter's rescue dog is fascinated by the mouse moving across the screen, so she whines and barks the whole time the TV is on.

Lately, I've been intrigued by the new(er) Raspberry PI 4 "mini PC" (RPI for short) for use as a digital music streamer. Looking into it, I can use this mini PC without any DAC, as my Marantz PM-7005 integrated amp has a USB input for it's built-in DAC. It even comes with an Ethernet port and WiFi built-in. It really is a mini PC.

I ordered an RPI 4 card (4GB version) for $68.91:

41SCYf1QTVL._AC_.jpg

a Fliirc case (best thermal case out there) for $15.95

Product Review: Flirc Raspberry Pi 4 Case - IoTRant

A generic 5.1 V, 3 A USB-C power supply with built-in on/off switch ($9.99)

Smraza Compatible with Raspberry Pi 4 Power Supply with ON/Off Switch, –  smraza

And then, just in case, I ordered a mini HDMI to HDMI cable so that if I have to, I can use this with my TV. Maybe even just to make set-up a little easier. It was $11.99.

My music is stored on a 1 TB Samsung T7 SSD external hard drive. It's one of 3 that I use. I have 2 others as backups for my backups. I have to have backups with so much music on there. I cannot lose this library as it would take years to recreate.