Extrapolation

skeith

Probably this has been said before, but here I go.

I have been listening to this one for 30 years and it always, every time, sounds fresh.

All Brits as far as I know and playing like monster musicians:McLaughlin, Tony Oxley, and John Surman stand out for me, but that bass player is great too.

The compositions are great-McLaughlin was such an underrated composer- and while it is most definitely not fusion you wouldn't mistake it for a Wes Montgomery album either. Given that this was recorded in 1969 or 70 - the originality of the compositions is striking. I'm not sure where they came up with this music but it is exceptional and brilliant.

I haven't said it very well here - and somebody else could in words to more justice to this album, but I have to say it is just marvelous.

Have either of you listened to WHERE FORTUNE SMILES? This is a very different session from the two previously mentioned. This is the most intense McLaughlin session I have heard. The improvisation is unrelenting and the electricity just continues to build. Surman and McLaughlin seem tireless throughout. Karl Berger plays vibe, Dave Holland bass, and STU MARTIN on drums. The picture on the inside of STU is worth the price of the disc alone.

I can't say that I'd recommend this disc to everyone, but I do listen to it every once in a while. The music is incredibly dense and fast.

Impossible,

I do have and like very much Where Fortune Smiles, but I disagree that it is very different from Extrapolation- both albums feature John Surman and several of the ballads from Where Fortune Smiles would have fit nicely on Extrapolation. Where I do agree with you is that a couple of the tunes on WFS are more "out" than anything anything on Ex - but I think the intensity level on Ex gets just as high.

Clunky,

I love that track too, funny the booklet calls it "Binky's Beam" and the tray insert calls is "Binky's Dream", one of several discrepancies with the booklet and tray.