This is a real shame!

I will be the first to say I was a terrible student. Even today I still have problems with proper grammar, among other things. (see what I mean)

BUT, I had and still have common sense. My map reading skills are outstanding. I can balance a checkbook ,and the only problem I've ever had in figuring out the amount to leave for a tip has been based solely on my recollection of the quality of service.

If true, this is just plain sad.

Study: Most College Students Not Literate Enough for Complex Tasks

By BEN FELLER AP Education Writer

WASHINGTON Jan 20, 2006 — More than half of students at four-year colleges and at least 75 percent at two-year colleges lack the literacy to handle complex, real-life tasks such as understanding credit card offers, a study found.

The literacy study funded by the Pew Charitable Trusts, the first to target the skills of graduating students, finds that students fail to lock in key skills no matter their field of study.

The results cut across three types of literacy: analyzing news stories and other prose, understanding documents and having math skills needed for checkbooks or restaurant tips.

Without "proficient" skills, or those needed to perform more complex tasks, students fall behind. They cannot interpret a table about exercise and blood pressure, understand the arguments of newspaper editorials, compare credit card offers with different interest rates and annual fees or summarize results of a survey about parental involvement in school.

"It is kind of disturbing that a lot of folks are graduating with a degree and they're not going to be able to do those things," said Stephane Baldi, the study's director at the American Institutes for Research, a behavioral and social science research organization.

Most students at community colleges and four-year schools showed intermediate skills. That means they can do moderately challenging tasks, such as identifying a location on a map.

There was brighter news.