McMaster/RVG Reissues

stew3859

To my embarrassment, I'm just realizing that there are apparently two sets of BN reissues, those remastered by Ron McMaster and those by RVG. I have a few of the McMaster reissues and I must confess, I was not impressed with any of them. Sound is compressed and there is little, if any, sounstaging, imaging, etc. Without turning this into an audiophile forum, the fact is, after investing in a dozen or so of the McMaster titles, I was pretty much resigned to finding original or good vinyl reissues of classic BN titles. Can anyone discuss what the relative strengths/weaknesses are of the McMaster/RVG remasters and perhaps suggest which titles might be worthy of reconsideration? Thanks.

Stew, welcome to the board! We are glad to have you.

The McMaster / RVG debate has been discussed ad nauseum. I'm sure if you did a search you could come up with a wealth of material.

The short story is that there are not a lot of McMaster fans on this board although there are a few. Most people agree that the early McMasters aren't too good and thus are glad to see the RVG series redo them. Many prefer the Japanese reissues both JRVG and TOCJ. Later McMasters are bit better but still inconsistent. These are usually Conns, nonRVG Blue Notes done in 20 or 24 bit and the Mosaic box sets.

To me the RVGs are less compressed and have much more clarity in both the bass and high end. Some might say too much high end and have even speculated about RVG having some high frequency hearing loss.

That's what I think are some the high points of the debate.

Edited by scottb

It's also very system-dependent. Many compressed remasters and/or remasters with bumped-up higher frequencies may sound OK on mid-fi gear, but on high-end systems the sound's often crap.

Which is why I don't think, as the thread asks, "any generalizations can be said".

Welcome to the board, Stew.