Ivo Perelman Recommendations

romualdo

I've been listening to Ivo for a few years now & have many of his Leo CDs up till 2011-2012. Looks like he has been unbelievably prolific since then. I've had a hiatus for a few years.

I want to pick up a bit more of his material from the yearly Leo "End Of The Century" sale - there is so much to choose from

Any recommendations - possibly the Art of Improv Trio & Quartets (6CDs), Perelman-Shipp series vols 1-6 or the recent Efforvescence 4CD box, maybe Live In Brussels

Any other fans out there?

Updated/more recent Cook/Morton volumes would have been useful buy they are no more!!

Edited by romualdo

Looking on my shelves it looks like 2012 was my cut-off too.  Although I did see him with Shipp after that and it was an excellent gig.  The one I have bought since, mostly because he's playing with Karl Berger is 'The Hitchhiker'.  It's very good.

So I'm also going to be interested in what folk come up with.

here's an interview I did with him in 2013:

https://www.cliffordallen.me/interviews/ivo-perelman-the-indisputable-truth-of-process-an-interview-2013

there is a ton to choose from -- I think the collaborations with Shipp are among his best. Just got the 9CD set of Brass & Ivory Tales but haven't really chipped away at it too much. 

I found the multi-year spree on Leo to be almost oppressive. He hasn't necessarily been doing things any differently in the last couple years, but I have found it easier to get a foot in the door with releases being spread out among different labels, even if the list of collaborators is largely the same.