Art Blakey & The Jazz Messengers - Live Recordings

Which one's the best?  

57 members have voted

You do not have permission to vote in this poll, or see the poll results. Please sign in or register to vote in this poll.

Hi Folks!

I'm relatively new to Jazz. I started a small collection a few month ago and now I want to add a live-recording of Blakey and his Messengers to my growing collection. But which one is the one to get? I won't buy them all, 'cause there are so many other discs on my list, so which one would you recommend?

Greetz, Sonny

Don't have enough knowledge or familiarity with the Messengers' live music to make an informed choice, but keep in mind that there are two "Jazz Corner of the World" sets on Blue Note: the "Meet You atJCoftW" (w/Wayne) and the "AtJCoftW" (w/Hank).

Others to add to your list: various dates on Riverside from the early 60s and both volumes of Three Blind Mice (all are the sextet with Wayne, Freddie, Curtis and Cedar). Also, the two volumes (Buttercorn Lady and one I can't remember) from the Lighthouse in '66, with Keith Jarrett on piano.

Out of the stuff I've heard, I'd rank the Birdland '54 recordings slightly above the Bohemia '55. The "Meet You" is poorly recorded (though certainly listenable), but the music is superb and has really grown on me.

Guy

ed: In terms of "historical importance" (rather than quality of music), I think the Birdland and Bohemia recordings should be at the top of the list.

Edited by Guy

I have them all - and more. One not on the list that shouldn't be missed:

Ugetsu (Riverside/OJC) - Hubbard, Shorter, Fuller, Walton, Workman, Blakey - live at Birdland 1963.

Mike

:tup:tup:tup

But in terms of a starting point, grab either the Bohemia or Birdland sets. You can't go wrong with either, but my personal preference is the Bohemia date because a) it was my first bona fide jazz purchase and b) I generally prefer Mobley/Dorham over Donaldson/Brown.