What give a player his unique "sound"?

K1969

This is probably a stupid question but what the hell.

Putting technical style to one side for a moment, I've always wondered what it is that makes an individual musician's "sound" unique. To what extent is it determined by objective factors like the model of the saxophone, trumpet or the type of reed etc, and to what extend is it a consequence of the player's own innate "voice"? I guess the answer is a combination of both but I'd like to hear from others anyhow. Say for argument's sake you wanted to impersonate Joe Henderson , would you have to take his own sax, or could you recreate his sound on a different one? When a player changes his model, does he "lose" his old sound a bit (and gain a new one) ?

(PS if it's not already obvious I'm not a musician so I didn't post this in the musician's section)

Edited by K1969

Not a stupid question at all!

Here's how I see it:

Sound comes from

-Equipment

-Influences

-Imagination/personal concept

-Physical attributes (chops, use of air, shape of oral cavity, teeth etc.)

I've always thought of it this way: a player's sound is the sum of their influences PLUS themself (their own input/concept). You can often tell who a player might have listened to (and been influenced by), and many don't escape "clone" status, but the players with the most memorable sounds add that extra personal ingredient that allows them to create an individual and identifiable sound.

This to me is the problem with much of jazz education these days- so many players fail to develop beyond the "clone" step. The study of technique is a means to an end, not an end in itself. The search for one's own sound is as important (if not more) than technical expertise. IMHO. :)

I still love Clark Terry's succinct explanation of development: "Imitate...Assimilate...Innovate".