Penguin Guide to Blues Recordings

...much more so than by any other Penguin Guide to recordings of any sort, let along by the increasingly vile Gramophone Guides to classical recordings, which are far beyond parody now. I'm not a blues expert by any means, but the apparent savvy and lucidity of the main authors, Tony Russell and Chris Smith, make this a pleasure to read as well as, as far as I can tell from my own tastes and experince, sound in its judgments. Any thoughts?

haven't seen it - is it a recent edition? I will say that Tony Russell is one of the best people in the field, and has done some particularly good work in the area of early hillbilly music -

Chris Smith is also good. Between the two of them, it should be a good volume. I haven't seen it yet.

I've seen it and I highly recommend it very highly to anyone with an interest in blues. Russell and Smith know their stuff and make excellent judgments - by that I suppose I mean that I agree with them at least 95% of the time :D. Anyone who wants to get started collecting blues recordings can use this as a reference to get started, even though it may seem a bit overwhelming at first, and anyone who has a blues collection can use it to add to that collection. It's a much better reference than the Penguin Guide to Jazz Recordings.

Got my copy a LONG time after ordering it (due to circumstances beyond my control) so browsed through it all the more extensively.

I agree with the positive comments by everybody here, and my only (minor to most, a bit major to me) quibbles are not in what is in there but what isn't.