Cd Databases

robviti

I have been using, for the past few months, a program called MusicCollector with much success. I'm very happy with it. Ofcourse, I have no prior experience w/ a music database such as this, so I have nothing to compare it to.

What features are important to you?

Here's a link to the MusicCollector site:

Music Collector

You can download a trial version and try it out for yourself!

Edited by street singer

I have my own trusty design and simply type the stuff up in MSExcell. One file holds simple listings of disks and another one (linked through a common number to the first file) lists recording date, personnel, and whatnot.

Sometimes I download song listings from AMG (good with large boxed sets). Otherwise it gives me something to do on long winter nights.

One feature I'm looking for is the ability to pop a cd in my computer and have its data automatically downloaded from the internet via an existing database like CDDB. With approximately 2,000 cds in my collection, the idea of entering each title by hand is inconceivable to me. If I understand the Music Collector webpage correctly, you can download data from three databases (CDDB, Amazon and AMG) by either scanning the cd in your computer or entering the barcode number. That sounds mighty convenient to me. Anyone else use Music Collector?

You can do that in Catraxx. The problem is CDDB. You don't know who entered the information about the disc into the database in the first place. And chances are they didn't do a good job with it.

Before my computer crashed I had my entire collection of over 1500 CD titles in there. I would say CDDB had about 75% of them. Of those, 90% had either wrong data, misspelled data, or lazy data (ie, not using capitol letters or correct punctuation) that I had to go back and manually change.

Not very time saving.