Les McCann - invitation to openness (1972)

slide_advantage_redoux

I picked up a few low priced sides the other day at Goodwill. Among them is this '72 release by Les McCann "Invitation to Openness" (Atlantic)

I'd be the last person here to say I am an expert or even conversant when it comes to McCann. I honestly haven't checked out that much of his music, aside from the oaccasional release with Eddie Harris.

But when I sat down and listened to this, I started to get the idea that there is a pretty evident iMiles influence. At times (at least on side A 'the lovers') it reminded me of On the Corner or maybe Bitches Brew. I can't really pin it down specifically, but that was my impression.

Feedback?

I kind of like this album occasionaly. It's not vintage McCann, but it's interesting. I wouldn't know about the Miles Davis influence; you may be right, but the man who infuenced McCann a lot in the seventies was Stevie Wonder and I can hear some of those ideas in 'The lovers'. Not so much in the two tracks on side 2, they're more like the regular Les McCann.

MG

Always liked this one, and do hear the Miles influence. Hadn't considered the Wonder flavor as well, but could be, for sure.

It's another one of those washy-y Rhodes-y space-y albums that everybody made post-Bitches Brew, like all the rock bands made psychedelic concept albums after Sgt. Pepper. Very atypical Mccann, but I think he does it well. Apparently. Layers is the one that trips everybody out, but...I just don't hear it there. This one, i do.

Always liked this one, and do hear the Miles influence. Hadn't considered the Wonder flavor as well, but could be, for sure.

It's another one of those washy-y Rhodes-y space-y albums that everybody made post-Bitches Brew, like all the rock bands made psychedelic concept albums after Sgt. Pepper. Very atypical Mccann, but I think he does it well. Apparently. Layers is the one that trips everybody out, but...I just don't hear it there. This one, i do.