Problem with Hank Mobley - No room for..

DatDere

I'm not sure if this is the right place to ask but...

I bought the RVG reissue of Hank Mobley's "No Room For Squares" today. According to both the booklet and the printing on the cd itself, it should have 8 tracks: 5 original takes and 3 bonus tracks. However, the actual disc only has the five original tracks and omits the bonus material. Is this a common error for this disc? My store didn't have any other copies.

Anyway, I'm fairly new to jazz and just heard this album for the first time. I love it, but I'd still like to have the bonus tracks. Should I return it to the store I bought it, or adress Blue Note Europe directly?

Thanks.

You've got every right to be confused about those 'No Room For Squares' issues.

The original vinyl (BN 4149) had tracks from two sessions:

a session with Lee Morgan, Andrew Hill, John Ore, Philly Joe Jones:

- Three Way Split/Carolyn/No Room For Squares/Me 'n You

another Mobley session with Donald Byrd, Herbie Hancock, Buth Warren, Philly Joe Jones:

- Up a Step/Old World, New Imports

When the material was reissued on CD, the complete material from the sessions of it was incorporated on the following CDs:

- No Room for Squares,

- The Turnaroud,

- Straight No Filter

All three are very worthy purchases. Good luck and enjoy the music!

Never heard or read of this error. If only the bonus tracks were missing, there should still have been 6 tracks instead of 5. Did you check the timings of the tracks? Maybe you got a whole other album which has the Mobley info printed on it. Such mistakes are known to happen. You may count yourself lucky you at least ended up with jazz music and you got an album you like on top of that!

Maybe you got a whole other album which has the Mobley info printed on it. Such mistakes are known to happen.

A definite possibility.