Robert Plant & Alison Krauss

Sundog

• Replies 55
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I got rid of my Led Zeppelin LPs when I finished my undergraduate degree in 1976 and have had no interest in hearing Robert Plant's vocals since then. This ranks with the pairing of Frank Sinatra with Kenny G or the recent Dean Martin with modern artists as one of the oddest, least interesting collaborations I can imagine, though I guess Plant and Krauss were in the studio at the same time...

HOWEVER: Merle Haggard has a bluegrass album coming out any minute now that oughta be pretty great.

xxoo,

edc, voice of the people

Don't give a damn about Plant or Krauss, but thanks for the news about the Merle. I'm looking forward to hearing that - or just about any Merle. I give thanks that he's still around and still doing it right.

Edited by paul secor

• 1 month later...

October 21, 2007

When It Takes Three People to Make a Duet

By JON PARELES, NYT

LONDON

PERHAPS it was a coincidence that Robert Plant chose a Russian tearoom called Trojka, which means a threesome or triumvirate, to talk about his new duet album with Alison Krauss, “Raising Sand.” Or maybe it was a subliminal reminder that the album is really a three-way collaboration by an improbable alliance: Mr. Plant, who will be forever known as the lead singer of Led Zeppelin; Ms. Krauss, whose clear voice and deft fiddle style hail from Appalachia; and the producer and guitarist T Bone Burnett, the Texan who is best known for concocting haunted, pensively anachronistic Americana.