Most worthless invention

THE LEAF-BLOWER! God knows I hate them.

As you all know, I make my living as a musician. As such I go to bed in the early morning (last night about 4am) and sleep late in the day. I woke this morning to the sound of my neighbor using a leaf blower outside my bedroom window.

What is the point of these things? Are they really any better than raking? I raked my leaves yesterday and I find the activity enjoyable. It's good exercise, it gets your body moving, it's repetitive so you can do it and think about other things and IT'S FUCKIN' QUIET!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

They should be out-lawed. It's noise pollution. Pure and simple.

:tdown:tdown:tdown

• Replies 83
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

The leaf blowers are in Tucson as well. But, wait... there aren't so many leaves in Tucson. Oh yeah, the machines are used to blow decorative gravel back into place. Jeez.

I don't often go to bed before 1:00AM or 2:00AM. Every single Friday moring, right at sunrise, the landscape maintenance people have their leaf-blowers blowing. I'm awakened sooner than I'd like. :rmad:

The worse part is one of my lazy neighbors is blowing the leaves into the street which the city explicity says not to do. Because people do this, the city comes by at 5 or 6 in the morning with huge dumptrucks and back-hoes to clean the leaves out of the street. You can imagine the noise that makes.

FOOLZ!

THE LEAF-BLOWER!  God knows I hate them.

They should be out-lawed.  It's noise pollution.  Pure and simple.

:tdown  :tdown  :tdown

I think this comes more under the headings of most obnoxious, unnecessary, and wasteful inventions. The damn leaf-blowers not only make a godawful, motorcycle-like racket, they also pollute the air about as much as a gasoline lawn-mower (which is more than you might think). Until they come out with quiet, electric leaf-blowers, I'm also in favor of banning these moronic contraptions.

:angry::angry::angry: