Mispronunciations that annoy you

Here's a treat for the grammarians and scourges of the grocer's apostrophe who have recently come out of the woodwork. Which words do you find people consistently get wrong? Plenty of scope too for those "divided by a common language". To get the ball rolling, here's Mr Moog on how you should say his name:

http://www.guardian.co.uk/commentisfree/cifamerica/2012/may/23/robert-moog-mispronunciations

• Replies 136
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

In America, the mispronunciations which bother me the most are deliberate or just plain lazy drops in diphthongs.

As a Speech teacher, I battle this all the time with my students. To point this lazy speech out to my students, I give them a sheet of paper with several common words written to reflect the phonetic sound they make when spoken incorrectly. Here are a few:

Ruckerd when they mean record;

Melk when they mean milk;

Mel when they mean mail;

Butter when they mean better;

Auction when they mean action;

And so forth. Once they see the mispronounced words spelled phonetically, the words start to creep back into their speech patterns pronounced correctly.

Personally, there is one word which really irritates me when pronounced incorrectly: Temperature. More than a few people say tem-PAH-ture. Ugh. To me, it is as bad as hearing finger nails scraping down a chalkboard.

Edited by GoodSpeak

Melk when they mean milk

Maybe they're Dutch!

Do bear in mind that a lot of "mispronunciations" are actually regional variations that wouldn't raise an eyebrow in their natural habitat. And there are many variants between standard Canadian and standard American pronunciation of the same words.

Two people I know from Oregon pronounce "lawyer" in a way that sounds to me like "liar" (though more specifically it's something like lah-yer). I pronounce it "loyer" but some fellow Brooklynites would say "loya."

Edited by Pete C

Melk when they mean milk

Maybe they're Dutch!