Gene Harris recommendations

CJ Shearn

Where to next? so far I have the following with Gene:

Trio+ One

25th Fujitsu Concord Jazz Festival (GREAT set on disc 1 with his quartet then with Scott Hamilton on disc 2)

26th Fujitsu Concord Jazz Festival (nice big band set on disc 2)

Ray Brown Trio: Live from New York to Tokyo (twofer with "Red Hot Ray Brown Trio" and "Bam Bam Bam" really great records)

I know "Live at Otter Crest" is highly recommended

If you haven't listened to any Three Sounds, well, those are a must, if you like Gene Harris.

There's also Stanley Turrentine and The Three Sounds. Just great music.

I'm no expert, but many of the Three Sounds CDs on Blue Note are worthwhile IMHO.

Dan Gould is the Gene Harris expert here. He can give you more recommendations than anybody else.

I am not a fan of most of the Three Sounds recordings (there are a couple of exceptions).

I much prefer the recordings with Gene Harris as leader on Concord.

Here are some I can recommend beyond the ones you already have.

The Gene Harris Quartet at Ste. Chapelle Winery

The Gene Harris Quartet - Funky Gene's

The Gene Harris Quartet - Black And Blue

The Gene Harris Quartet with Special Guest Frank Wess - It's The Real Soul

All i can tell you is that I went along thinking 3 Sounds = same old piano trio, WAITRESS, then I was driving around high one day, heard this on the AMjazzradio, and BOOM, lightbulb CLICKED about how piano trios that are really TRIOS work (no one answer, but definitely answers), and ever since then, anything by 3 Sounds on BN, I go for.

And if at all possible, go for the LPs. The whole "side" thing about programming really works for them. One LP side is usually a thing unto itself, people say, oh, no Mosaic for 3 Sounds, it all too much sounds the same, and yeah, sure, but fuck that, get the LPs and experience pie the way it tastes best, one slice at a time, not the whole damn pie at once, what kind of a gluttonous dummard eats a whole pie at once?