Who/what got you hooked on jazz?

Hi everyone,

posting something elsewhere on this board I referred to my dad who got me hooked on jazz. It was really a combination of factors - my dad's record collection, my mom's piano playing, the constant availability and presence of music in our house, my later move to Copenhagen, Denmark, where jazz concerts were available 24/7, etc. - that got me hooked, but I think it was largely my dad's "fault" that I invest so much time and money into jazz these days (after a rather long absence).

Did your parents have an influence on you when it comes to your musical preferences or the mere fact that you do in fact spend a lot of time with music/jazz today?

On a similar note, if my parents hadn't spent an incredible amount of time reading to me (us), often taking the time when time was not available, I wouldn't have been such an avid reader either.

As a teacher I notice that today, in Germany, many parents do not invest that time anymore (because they don't want to or don't have much time to spare) or simply don't have any affinity for books or records, and as a result, many children I teach have huge difficulties reading or appreciating texts or understanding that music has a history.

I'm often surprised how little teenagers today know about the latest hit which is based on some other tune from way back when. It was always made clear to me where things came from, so I never thought about this until I was faced with kids who thought that P. Diddy was actually doing something new. I remember pulling out a Led Zep CD once, taking it to school and playing it to a 10th grade with the result that many people actually borrowed it simply because they liked the original better (or because it was free burn ;) ).

There is a generation hitting the streets which has a lot of abilities but little knowledge of the history and background of things.

Cheers!

In my case it was electric Miles and Louis Armstrong.