Ebikes Are A Blast!

I've been riding bicycles for many years. For the longest time, I've ridden a Trek hybrid. I liked the riding position more than a straight street bike. As time has gone on, my rides have gotten shorter and I plan my trips to avoid big hills. Then my friend brought over his new ebike and had me take it for a spin. Wow - What a blast!

I bought a Magnum Cruiser and off I went. I love this thing. Hills have completely disappeared and long rides are enjoyable again.

Yes, I am playing my "old fart" card, but at this point of my life but I earned it. :)

Magnum Cruiser - The Bike Shop California

My older brother refuses to even sit on it. He acts as if it's not even a real bicycle. But we both know the real reason is that he would love it and have to buy one himself. :)

On 7/18/2023 at 4:44 PM, mjzee said:

Great article. I particularly liked where it said, "studies have shown that riders using pedal-assists—a type of e-bike that amplifies your pedal power but does not take over entirely—get more exercise than those on regular bikes, because they cycle longer and more frequently". I know this is true for me. I pretty much stopped riding for about 3 years, only going out when I felt guilty or, more likely, after a look in a mirror at my gut. :)

On 7/18/2023 at 6:38 PM, sgcim said:

Yeah, they're a blast alright- thry're burning down NYC! I just got a notice from my co-op board saying that they're banned in my building!

E-bikes are not burning down NYC. Lithium batteries are causing a lot of fires everywhere - including NYC.

But Lithium batteries are not exclusive to E-bikes and NYC fires are not only due to E-bikes. They are in every cellphone & laptop made today. Is your co-op board going to ban them too? Will they ban EVs from being charged in your parking lot? It's a serious situation that needs to be addressed, but trying to place the blame entirely on E-bikes seems shortsighted.