A Nordic Revolt Against ‘Ugly’ Modern Architecture

Until a couple of years ago, this was the School of Architecture in Stockholm, built in 1967-1969. It has often been voted the ugliest building in the city, but I quite like it. It's a pity that they have moved to other premises.

0ffe6c35a9807ba08cb03373f6bd1bd8.jpg

Edited by Daniel A

4 minutes ago, Daniel A said:

Until a couple of years ago, this was the School of Architecture in Stockholm, built in 1967-1969. It has often been voted the ugliest building in the city, but I quite like it. It's a pity that they have moved to other premises.

0ffe6c35a9807ba08cb03373f6bd1bd8.jpg

While I'm not an architecture expert, that building appears to lean more into brutalist territory than modernism, unless brutalism is considered to be a sub-category of modernism.  Thoughts?

For sure it's brutalist, but I think there's a link back to the more classic modernism.

I'm no expert either, but I think contemporary architecture in Sweden gradually ran out of ideas in the 80s up to recently, but I see some recent signs of improvement. Every decade during the 20th century was distinctive up to the late 80s, when a lot started to look like a recycled, watered-down version of modernism. But I think there's still some hope.

4 hours ago, Teasing the Korean said:

Given what's going on in the US and Europe, we need the spirit of modernism now more then ever, IMHO.

Certainly some of its optimism

10 minutes ago, Teasing the Korean said:

While I'm not an architecture expert, that building appears to lean more into brutalist territory than modernism, unless brutalism is considered to be a sub-category of modernism.  Thoughts?

Brutalism undergoing a major re-evaluation in UK.

I'd say it was a style that followed but is distinct from Modernism as a style

19 minutes ago, mjazzg said:

Brutalism undergoing a major re-evaluation in UK.

I'd say it was a style that followed but is distinct from Modernism as a style