AOTW - Aug 20-26

allblues

I'm surprised that Dex hasn't been the subject of an AOTW before. This is my first time to select, and I decided on two related albums recently mentioned in the 2 LPs on 1 CD thread. They do in fact show up on the same disc in the Complete Blue Note Sixties Sessions.

Recorded two days apart (August 27 and 29, 1962) with the same personnel, Go! (now BN 98794) and A Swingin' Affair (BN 37754) are from the middle of his Blue Note run in the '60s. The material includes the originals, Cheese Cake, McSplivens, and the Latin-inflected Soy Califa as well as Billie Holiday's Don't Explain, Cole Porter's Love for Sale, and Jule Styne's I Guess I'll Hang My Tears Out to Dry.

Go! was reportedly Dex's own BN favorite, and it's certainly mine with A Swingin' Affair not far behind. Through the years, these are the DG albums I keep returning to. Every note is exactly where it should be. I've always liked Dex best in a quartet setting, and what a quartet this is! Sonny Clark on piano, Butch Warren on bass, and Billy Higgins on drums. Very sympathetic support for a giant at the height of his creative powers.

Although these albums probably aren't new to most of you, they definitely deserve repeated listenings. Whether you're heard them one time or a thousand, give them a spin this week.

First of all, without going back through that long Dexter thread, I am curious whether Allen Lowe considers either one of these records to be examples of Dex on a good day, or if he hears inebriation or chemical alteration here, too.

I think what stood out to me when I first heard these in the late 80s was the ballads. The way Dex caresses those melodies is just sublime and I think these two albums helped me to recognize Dex as a favorite ballad player.